Breasts or “Boobs” – Nurture or Nudity

I have not posted a blog in quite a while.  Life gets in the way of life; or as John Lennon sings, “life is what happens when you’re busy making other plans”.  

So, unless one is a small child or in the majority of the elderly who do not use computers, what do we all have in common; something we all do on a daily basis – it would appear that sometimes we can not live without it.  Yup, it’s Facebook.  Even for those who do not check it everyday, if you have some other type of social media, i.e. Twitter, WordPress, Instagram, when you post there, it will automatically be posted on Facebook.  Facebook is (one of) the monster(s) that have taken over our lives; and, we allowed it, and we encourage it.  But, in doing so, we have made Facebook the arbiter of what is right and what is wrong; what is allowed and what is not.

Recently, The Girl God page on Facebook posted an article.   Facebook decided that this brilliant article, which discusses breasts, freedom and how women are shamed, was inappropriate, showed nudity and was against their so-called rules.  The admin of The Girl God, and all of the women who are allowed to post on that page were banned from posting anything on Facebook for 24 hours. This included me, my first Facebook ban.  

This is just the tip of the proverbial iceberg. Facebook also bans any photos of breast-feeding, and photos of women who have had mastectomies from which they have SURVIVED.  In great acts of strength and courage, they cover their scars with the most beautiful tattoos.   I think almost every woman who is currently on Facebook has seen at least one of these photos. They are beautiful and what they portray is something amazing; and yet, they are deemed inappropriate.  

Facebook’s attitude against breastfeeding is so prevalent, there is at least one Facebook page about it:  https://www.facebook.com/the.ban.on.breastfeeding  My suggestion is for everyone to go and “like” this page to show support.  This article from June of 2014 from the Huffington Post would indicate that this policy of banning breast-feeding photos; I’m not sure if I believe that.

Meanwhile, there are lovely pages, such as this. And this.  These searches took all of 10 seconds.  I have no desire to search further due to my delicate sensitivities <smirk>, but I think you get the point.

So, to sum it up, we have women’s breasts that were made for feeding and nurturing a child.  We have women bravely facing and surviving breast cancer and coming through it with pride and dignity.  Then we have “boobs” and the denigration of women.   Facebook needs to figure out their policies and quickly, or they may find women leaving in droves for another site, or even no site at all.   

As for the women who were banned, while I can only speak for myself, I would hazard a guess that none of us will stop fighting and standing up for women and our own principles.    We stand together, banned or badasses.  

 

5 thoughts on “Breasts or “Boobs” – Nurture or Nudity

Add yours

  1. Brava, friend. Well said. Thank you for posting and sharing my article. I wrote an article yesterday sharing my feelings about shaming and control, https://breastsarehealthy.wordpress.com/2016/01/12/nipples-social-isolation-and-facebook-using-shame-to-control-women/, and I included a cover photo of me from the back, which I almost never do, so that hopefully it will live a long happy life being passed around Facebook. The article of mine that you shared that resulted in your suspension from Facebook has been circulating Facebook for more than a month. Periodically I notice a sudden drop in activity followed three or four days later by another sharp rise in activity, followed by a sharp drop again. I’ve wondered if that represented cycles of censorship and rebirth, as it were. Yesterday I had five women contact me to say they had their accounts suspended for sharing my article. I’ve never had a man contact me to tell me the same. Not saying it hasn’t happened of course, just something to ponder. I do not use Facebook precisely because of this policy, though I do very much appreciate the people who have shared my article to their Facebook friends. That’s a big endorsement, given Facebook’s antiquated and punitive policy. I appreciate the work you are doing. ~Gingerbread

    1. thank you so much, Gingerbread. I’m hoping that this will get some dialogue going among women other than those that are already fighting for our rights. I put it on my personal wall, but also on my FB feminist page, which is also called Shakti Warrior. I keep hoping someone will come up with a social media site where women can go and not always have to be on their guard.

  2. Seeing the Girl God get banned from FB, while obviously, unfortunate, made me realize such a ban is its own badge of honor. Interesting that the female breast continues to give so many such a negative charge- esp. when used for purposes that have nothing to do with tantalizing the male gaze.

    1. Well, of course, we all know that we are only put on this Earth to please them! hahahaha I can’t even say that with a straight face. Seriously, I do think of it as a badge of honor, as we are standing up for all women, whether they realize it or not. Please feel free to check out my Shakti Warrior page on FB, as well. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

