Vote As If Your Life Depends On It

Vote As If Your Life Depends On It.

If you are in the U.S., and you are a woman, whether you identify as a feminist or not, you need to vote as if your life depends upon it, because IT DOES.

The majority of my Facebook “friends” are feminists, no surprise there.  Quite a few of them are very political because as Z Budapest has said, “the political is personal”.  The women that I correspond with know that this upcoming election will set the tone for the future of women in this country.  They tend to be left-leaning, Democrats or Independents.

It is not a secret that the GOP will go after Planned Parenthood; not only will they once again outlaw abortion, women’s healthcare will suffer.  This means that women will suffer.  There will be no minimum wage hike.  There will be no closing of the gender pay gap.  Social Security may disappear.  Forget the Affordable Care Act aka Obamacare (a name I do not like).  Science and climate change will be ignored.  All of those gains made by the LBGTQ community will disappear as if they never were. Racial equality?  If the party of old, white, male patriarchy comes into power, civil rights will disappear more than they have been already with the deaths of so many young black males by white cops.  Make no mistake, this country will be forced back into the past. Women’s rights, black rights, human rights, animal rights, all rights will one by one, turned back.

Which brings me to the point of this blog – the Democratic Party.  For the sake of brevity, I am just going to dismiss Martin O’Malley and focus on Bernie Sanders and Hillary Clinton.  As a feminist myself, I have heard from several sources that I need to “vote with my vagina”, that a woman needs to be elected President.  I like Hillary on some platforms and not so much on others.  Bernie Sanders – I like this guy.  I find myself agreeing with him on many issues.  Where I will end up in my voting is still up for grabs, maybe, but it will be something I keep to myself.  What I do have an issue with is the acrimony that seems to have developed between the supporters of Hillary Clinton and Bernie Sanders.  I have read the personal opinions on Facebook, opinions of intelligent women whom I admire.  I have been dismayed.  I have also read myriad articles on this issue; Bernie Sanders supporters who say if HRC gets the nomination, they will not vote for her.  Hillary Clinton’s supporters who say if Bernie Sanders gets the nomination, they will not vote for him.

I would like to point out that if these various supporters go through with what they threaten, they leave the country in the hands of those who would destroy it, those who would erode the strides we  have made, those who would shove their conservative religions and  beliefs down our throats, not to mention the hatred that they preach.  (Funny that, that the most religious preach the most hate.)

If the supporters of each Democratic candidate cannot find a common ground and support the other if he/she is the one to get the nomination, what hope is there that the country as a whole can find common ground.  It is no secret that the country is divisive enough as it is; do we need this to get worse.

What is basically comes down to is this:

1929708_10207615266515354_2707915204075015451_n

That is the reality of what is happening.  Trump, unbelievable as it sounds, is way ahead of anyone else in the GOP.  If it happens that his numbers fall, who is behind him?  Cruz, Rubio – they scare me with their thoughts and beliefs.  I would fear for this country even more than I already do.

That is the reality of what is going down right now.  You don’t have to be a feminist to see what this country needs.  You don’t have to be gay, or black, or vegan or  <fill in the blank> to know that this country needs to continue to move forward and that that will only come to pass with one of the Democratic candidates in the White House.

Don’t throw away your vote.  Don’t throw away this country because you don’t like what some other folks are saying about your chosen candidate.  We need to be bigger than a party; we need to be bigger than one person’s idea.  We need to do what is right for everyone who lives in this country.

Think about it.

 

)O(

 

3 thoughts on “Vote As If Your Life Depends On It

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

