No, It is Not Normal; and Yes, It is Personal

I am still dealing with the reality of the US election results.  The emotions seem to come in awful, gut-clenching waves.

I watched the most recent episode of John Oliver in HBO, and what needs to be reinforced by everyone is to repeat, “this is NOT normal; do NOT normalize this man”.   This cannot be repeated enough.

I stopped counting how many times I have been told that everyone who voted for DT is not a bigot and a racist, that they do not hate women, or those in the LGBTQ community.  They just voted for change because things cannot continue in our government as they have been.

I agree with that statement.  Changes must be made, but those changes should not be made at the expense of the rights of others.  The fact that you voted for him means that either change was more important to you than the rights of women, people of color, the LGBTQ community, immigrants; or, it means that your hatred for HRC was more important.  Neither of those reasons cut is for me.  For me, this is personal, very personal.

I’m a woman, so that is strike #1 against me.  That Planned Parenthood will be defunded is most likely a done deal.  Women who are urban, poor, of color, who visit Planned Parenthood for their healthcare will be out of luck, but hey, if some get sicker, or even die, it won’t matter because they are women and they are inferior to men.  There will be a fight to overturn Roe v. Wade.  How many remember the distant past before Roe v. Wade when women who needed to terminate a pregnancy went to some back alley quack, took meds, or Goddess forbid, a coat hanger to do so?  Will this matter to the new administration?  Again women are inferior to men and if some die, it doesn’t matter much.  The value of women to this administration has been made quite clear by the president-elect and the person he chose for VP.  One is a pig and a misogynist; the other a Christian who makes all of his decisions based on a book written long ago and far away by men.  He will do what he can to set back women’s rights decades.   So, as a woman, yes, this is personal.

I have had people from the LGBTQ community around me my entire life.  Some are friends, some family, some adopted family.  When you starting talking about repealing same-sex marriage, or stopping trans-gender rights in their tracks, you are talking about people that I love.  That the leadership of a country would ruin the lives of so many, destroying their families, is a disgrace.  So,  as someone who loves those in this community, yes, this is personal.

My heart goes out to people of color in this country.  This past year has shown us the complete disregard and disrespect shown to them by, apparently, the majority of this country.  The incidents of racism increased this year, and has spiked even more since the election.  I’m white but I have been in a situation where the bigotry toward blacks spilled over to me.  I dated a black man off and on for half dozen years back in the day.  I remember how I felt being called “nigger lover” and other shameful terms.  That these were said by people who were supposed to be my friends only made it that much worse.  I survived where so many people of color do not survive.  What we thought was mostly over, has just been hiding and now, with tacit approval from the new leadership of this country, it is out and more blatant than it has been in a very long time.   So, while I may be white, yes, this is also personal.

What will be done to Medicare and Medicaid?   My mother is elderly and is a beneficiary of both Medicare and Medicaid.  She receives services that I can not provide for her from several states away.  What do I do if her benefits are cut?  What does she do?  I, myself, am on Social Security Disability. This makes it very personal for me on two levels.

I have just heard that a Trump advisor made mention of the Japanese internment camps as a model for what may be done for a “Muslim” registry, which will also include most immigrants.  I find it abhorrent that this is even being considered.  This brings us to the deportation of millions of immigrants, once again destroying families, sending people back to the countries they left in fear.  Has none of these so-called leaders seen the Statue of Liberty lately?  “Give me your poor, your tired, your huddles masses, yearning to breathe free”.  These words have always meant something important to this country.  We are, or have been in the past, the beacon of freedom in this world.  Everyone in this country comes from somewhere else, or their families did.  If you are not Native American, then you are an immigrant, or your distant family were immigrants.  This should be personal to everyone who gives a damn about others.  Do you give a damn?

I’m sure I am missing something, but no matter what I am missing, it is nothing compared to what this new leadership team is missing – respect, compassion, sympathy, empathy (a brain??)  This is a country built on freedom, morals, integrity and dignity.  This is a country that has a separation of church and state for a reason.

So, if you voted for DT for change or hatred of his opponent, then you were somehow able to overlook hatred, bigotry, violence, sexism, racism, genderism, misogyny; you were able to overlook that he was endorsed by David Duke and the KKK ; you were able to overlook basic human rights, respect and dignity.   I don’t think that is something I can overlook in you, that you are that type of person and my sincere hope is that you are not in my life somewhere, hiding behind a facade of political correctness.  If you are, come out of hiding, so that I can tell you directly that I do not wish you in my life.

This is personal for me, for so many others with hearts.  This is not normal, he is not normal.  Don’t start living your life as if nothing has happened.  Don’t get over it.  Don’t accept it.  Please do not normalize him and what he and his cronies will do to this country.  It’s been done before (see Nazi Germany) and it did not end well.

No, this is not normal, and yes, this is personal

 

)O(

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

